Gratitude

There is a notebook that I have been carrying with me for a while. This book is a simple note book. Hard cover. Bought from the supermarket for a dollar.

On the outside of the notebook I have placed a felt cover, bought from a craft market in Wellington. Its a smiple cross pattern, but it is special to me. It has a purpose and a reason.

In this notebook on the inside cover I have written the word “Gratitude”. This is my notebook that for a while (on and off) I was writing things that I felt grateful for that day. It could be anything. I wrote 3 things, either morning and night, sometimes both. Even if I had a bad day I wrote 3 things that I was grateful for. I wrote those 3 things morning and night.

I have over the past year have had the notebook with me. Here are some of the things that I have been grateful for.

23 March 2014

-writing the best material that I have at the moment into 5 minutes.

-Cleaning the house and having less things to worry about.

– Realising how long that I have been listening to podcasts and how much they have influenced my thinking.

 

24 March Morning

-The clean and organised house that I have made

-Getting to bed early and waking up at 6am

– Having completed writing my comedy yesterday

 

24 March Evening

-For Tim organising the dinner at my house after I said hey lets do one.

-For my knowledge of the busses. That its best to walk to the further bus stop than wait for one to come, maybe.

-That I have inspiring people and podcasts that make me want to live positively

 

25 March Morning

-For deciding on traveling and changing my situation

-Simpleness that I have made for myself

-The ability to be able to buy things online and get them shipped to my door

 

26 March Evening

-Knowing about fringe things and being able to keep on top of trends

-Calling mum and dad and listening to James, my Nephew.

-Having crazy ideas and taking action in interesting ways

-Having my laptop fixed.

-Games night. Being able to just turn up and play games

-Knowing that I acted childish and know that I need to be aware of when i’m like that .

-That I’m able to keep on the edge of things, on the fringe and find cool things.

 

27 March Morning

-That i’m not afraid to talk to the people from reddit wellington

-That my parents help me with flights and organising things

-The quietness and stillness at the apartment of being myself a lot

 

5 April evening

-That I can finally be honest with myself

-The great weather today

-The great music I listed to on pandora

 

6 April evening

-For finally talking to my dad about all the issues that I have with him

-For the quietness in my head now that all the anger is out

-For cleaning up the house and putting more stuff in the car

 

8 April Morning

-The feedback that I got from Nik-Bruce Smith and Adam Wright.

-The ease of getting on stage and bombing

-The automation of my base line operation that keeps things operating correctly.

 

13 April Evening

-Writing new jokes and working on old material on my chromebook

How short of a time has it been since I have been so positive and grateful. Noticing all the wonderful things that are happening around me.

In life, we are the mirrors of the world around us. Stop reflecting hate and anger on to the people who look to you for guidance and support. Instead however, be grateful and inspiring.

We are more powerful than we give ourselves credit for. If we just let ourselves be ok with being average then we might be able to become amazing.

Where in your life have you been too negative? Where are you not taking the advice that you have been giving to other people? Maybe now its time to start being positive again.

In review of the list I am able to notice where I could have been going wrong. Its not about being ok with just yourself its being ok at the world around you. There was no other way that you could do it. You need to both love yourself but more so love everything in the world around you. That includes your enemies. What ever they are and and whatever form they take. You need to adopt the fighting mentality, the warrior’s ethos (by steven pressfield), you turn and face your death, the creature that is chasing after you. Your mortality.

The mind adapts and converts to its purpose the obstacle to our acting. The impediment to action advances action. What stands in the way becomes the way – Marcus Aurelius

The thousands of different ways that you could go. The thousands of different things that you could do in life. Now you needed to chose to become world class in a very short amount of time.

This has been written over a few days. If it feels fragmented and clunky forgive me. Also, I’m average at editing.

Peace,

Mark

Leave a Reply

